Managing Data Source Connections

Section header image mobile

Coefficient requires that you connect to a data source (ie: Salesforce, MySQL, Jira, etc.) in order to pull data into Google Sheets. Maintaining/managing these data connections is very important and can affect your imports - especially dashboards built on imports using Coefficient.

Managing Data Source Connections

Rename Connection

Reauthorize Connection

Delete Connection

FAQs with disconnecting/reconnecting a data source

Managing Data Source Connections

There are 3 actions you can take once connected to a Data Source in Coefficient, “Rename”, “Reauthorize” and “Delete”.

Example: Salesforce

Rename Connection

1. Click the Menu (hamburger icon) from the sidebar.

Menu_Icon (1).png

2. Select “Connected Sources”.

ConnectedSourcesUpdated.png

3. Look for the connection you want to rename. Click the 3-vertical dots icon and select “Rename Connection”.

Screen_Shot_2022-10-17_at_3.40.14_PM.png

 

4. Enter a new (unique) name for your data connection. (press Enter to save)

Screen_Shot_2022-10-17_at_3.42.43_PM.png

5. Moving forward, you will now see that name in the list of data source connections.

Screen_Shot_2022-10-17_at_3.43.21_PM.png

Reauthorize Connection

You may be wondering why you will need to “Reauthorize” your data connection in Coefficient after you have successfully connected to this source. Sometimes the connection with the data source is broken/disconnected for one reason or another. “Reauthorizing” your data connection will resolve this disruption and get your imports refreshing again.

1. Click the Menu (hamburger icon) from the sidebar.

Menu_Icon (1).png

2. Click “Connected Sources”.

ConnectedSourcesUpdated.png

3. Look for the connection you want to Reauthorize. Click the 3-vertical dots icon and select “Reauthorize” from the options.

Untitled (5).png

 

4. Click “Authorize”.

Untitled (6).png

5. You are redirected to the Salesforce login page. Enter your credentials and “Log In”.

Untitled (7).png

6. Select “Allow” to continue. If successful, you will be taken back to Google Sheets.

Untitled (8).png

 

Delete Connection

1. Click the Menu (hamburger icon) from the sidebar.

Menu_Icon (1).png

2. Click “Connected Sources”.

ConnectedSourcesUpdated.png

3. Look for the connection you want to Delete. Click the 3-vertical dots icon and select “Delete” from the options.

Screen_Shot_2022-10-17_at_3.48.38_PM.png

 

4. A warning message will appear. Check the “Got it, please proceed” box and click “Delete” to proceed.

Untitled (9).png

⚠️NOTE: Deleting the Data Connection will also delete the connection between your imports and that data source. This will result in your imports breaking/no longer refreshing. This action cannot be undone.

 

FAQs for Managing Data Source Connections

What will happen to any existing imports if I delete the data source?

All the imports using the data source that was deleted will stop working and will no longer refresh. Even if you re-connect to that same data source after deleting the connection, the imports will remain broken.

 ⚠️ NOTE: We HIGHLY recommend checking the imports used on a data source connection BEFORE deleting the connection. You may accidentally delete a source that was powering a colleague's import/dashboard and that colleague would need to start over and rebuild from scratch. 😬😭😡 

Any imports that are broken due to a deleted data source will need to be manually recreated using a new data connection.

To check how many imports are using a data connection:

Navigate to the Menu → Connected Sources → click the ℹ️ icon beside the connected source name and it will reveal the number of imports using that connection.

 

Screen_Shot_2022-10-18_at_4.26.18_PM.png

 

Was this article helpful? 0 out of 0 found this helpful